This topic contains 33 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Ефремова Фаина 1 day, 17 hours ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author

dave4848
    Participant

Hey Dr. J
    I was looking for information based on the latest research on what I should be taking pre/post workout
    At the moment I’m not taking protein powder prior to workouts.
    I just take 30g hydrolysed WPI protein (ASN HP-100). 80g dextrose and 3g creatine. I weight 83kg currently and after coming back from a shoulder injury and am looking to build strength and put on some size. I’ve been training for 4 years prior to the injury that took me out for 6months.
    I also play hockey twice a week and take the same post workout shake after training/games.
    I’m looking at 4 categories (a)best practice if money is no object (b) on very tight budget (c) mid level budget halfway between the two.
    1) Protein
    What protein powder is your recommendations post workout / pre workout
    A blend or one of the following by itself ?
    Hydrolyzed WPI
    Are myopure going to start selling DH20 Hydro WPI ? I heard a ASN rep go on about how the new HP-100 was so much better due to it being DH20 not DH17
    Can you please explain the DH20vDH17 ?
    How much more effective is Hydrolyzed WPI vs WPI ?

Hydrolyzed Casein Protein
    Never heard of this before can you explain the research on this ?

WPI
    What is the difference between some of your WPI’s ?

WPC
    Should this even be in my post workout shake ?

I would also like some info on the time to absorb these proteins.
    2) Carbs
    Vitargo vs Maltodextrin and dextrose which is better for weight training?
    With malto/dex what ratio/how much of each ?
    3) Glutamine
    I have heard mixed reports on the usefulness of this supplement could you clear up what the latest research is and dosage please
    I apologise for my very long post
    David

#8988 Reply

Dr J
    Keymaster

@dave4848 wrote: