This topic contains 9 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Dr J 8 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Grahamw
    Participant

Hi

I’ve read on here that creatine doesn’t work for everyone and there are some that swear by it. I am fairly new to all this but have read well and I too am wondering weather to use it or indeed whether it will work for me. I recently decided to have a health check and my results were very good. They also did a liver function test and a whole bunch of other stuff and from the results, I saw an entry for Creatinine which is (from the Greek kreas, flesh) is a break-down product of creatine phosphate in muscle, and is usually produced at a fairly constant rate by the body (depending on muscle mass). Chemically, creatinine is a spontaneously formed cyclic derivative of creatine. (source Wikipedia)

My reading for Creatinine was 75 umol/L and the normal range is 60-110. I could be completely off the radar here and it may have no connection whatsoever but is it possible that those with a naturally high level of creatinine in their system are not likely to benefit much from supplementation? Whereas those with a lower count will? I’m sure this stuff has been tested and blah blah blah but it was just a thought I had, that’s all and wanted to share it 8) .

Cheers

G

#7978 Reply

Dr J
    Keymaster

Creatine may not have any added benefit if a person has already maximized their creatine stores. So if you eat a lot of red meat or a lot of herrings you may be out of luck.

Creatine transport gateways may be another reason a small percent of the population don’t respond.

Your creatinine levels are normal. If this means anything, and I’m not sure that it does, your response to creatine supplemental is likely to be normal.

J

#7979 Reply

unbuff
    Participant